Bar Cart Love

Thank you so much to Beckie from Roadkill Rescue for featuring my countertop makeover this week! So honored and the write up of the project was so sweet. If you’re popping in from Roadkill Rescue, I’d love for you to stay and have a look around!

Nate and I were driving through our neighborhood when I screamed for him to stop the car. He ignored me. He does that often because typically the things I’m yelling are “Frozen Yogurt!” or “Target!” or “Sale!” I think he’s learned to take my “emergencies” with a grain of salt.

I insisted I saw something I had to have a few houses back. It was just sitting on the side of the road, just for me. Waiting. I got out of the car and found the bar cart of my dreams. My dreams consist of finding free things on the side of the road that I can makeover so it pretty much fit my high standards.

Here she is right off the curb:

Bar cart before

The plan was to spray paint the cart. That’s usually the plan 99% of the time. I sprayed the cart with a silver metallic spray paint that I had left over in my spray paint collection. Two coats did the trick. Next, Nate flipped over the cart and glued on two scrap pieces of wood with wood glue. We needed something to mount the wine glass rack to since the top shelf was too thin because we needed to use longer screws to make sure the glasses would be secure.

We let the glue dry over night with books on top of the wood to really adhere the scraps. The following day, Nate used the power drill to attach the wine glass holder to the wood he attached. We bought the rack from Bed, Bath & Beyond about two years ago to use at our old apartment. The rack was just sitting in our storage room since our new house had much more cabinet space and we didn’t really need the extra storage.

So if you’re putting everything together here, this project totaled zero dollars and zero cents. That’s free people. You hear me? FREE! That’s my kinda project.

Once the cart was dry, I went to town styling it. By going to town, I mean going to Goodwill. I’m all about buying new stuff, but I can buy more  things from the thrift store. More= more happy. Are you following me?

Styled bar on the side

Styled bar from right

Styled bar

Gold-rimmed glasses: Goodwill, Decanters: yard sale finds by Nate, Silver tray: Goodwill, Wine Glasses: gift from my mom for Christmas (she bought me two sets because I break my wine glasses like it’s going out of style), Mason Jar: Michael’s, Striped paper straws: Michael’s (use their coupons because these straws can run between $3-$6 dollars which seems overpriced for straws but they’re so dang cute. #amiright?), Ice bucket: Target, Cocktails recipe book: Pottery barn, Peace sign: HomeGood’s, White tray: Target

Styled bar from left

I LOVE this bar cart. I LOVE that it was free. What can I say? I’m in love!

Have you ever rescued anything from the side of the road? Did your husband think you were crazy, too?

And Happy Halloween! How are you celebrating? I’ll be watching Hocus Pocus with a few friends while anxiously awaiting Trick-or-Treaters. Last year was a bust due to Hurricane Sandy and I sat waiting by the stairs for my very first Trick-or-Treaters. I think I’ll just make tomorrow my second first Halloween as a home owner. I can’t wait!

P.S. I created a Facebook page for Pinterior Designer. Like the page (link in the sidebar) so you can get updates on  my latest posts and sneak peaks of projects.

P.P.S. Follow me on bloglovin please! The link is also in the sidebar.

I’m sharing this post at…

Six Sisters Stuff
www.remodelaholic.com

3 thoughts on “Bar Cart Love

  1. Once we put some of our items out for large item pick up. A pick up truck pulled up and examined our items. We were watching from the window of course! He decided to unload a few things to make room for some of our stuff. After he left, we went out and brought in the 2 end tables he left behind! I got them for free and free delivery! Of course I spray painted them and they looked great!

  2. Pingback: This Project Gives Roadside Bar a Whole New Meaning

Leave a Reply

